LAUSD Rookie of Year Teachers to be Honored at Dodgers Game

LOS ANGELES (July 20, 2016) – Eighteen teachers from the Los Angeles Unified School District have been named Rookies of the Year for the 2015-16 school year.

"Congratulations to the next class of ROY teachers.  We believe that your enthusiasm and dedication as a new teacher in our District will inspire students to achieve and encourage lifelong learning," said the Superintendent Michelle King.  "Thank you for selecting education as a career and I am eager to work with you as we move our students in L.A. Unified forward."

On Saturday, Aug. 13, the 18 winners and their guests will attend a Dodgers baseball game from a private suite at the stadium, provided by Security Benefit, a retirement specialist company serving teachers and educators. Superintendent King will join them, and also throw out the ceremonial first pitch. 

The District’s Rookies of the Year represent 10 elementary schools, three middle schools, four high schools and one primary center.  The Rookies of the Year are:

Veronica Cuellar, special education, 153rd Elementary School       

Tarah Davis, art, San Fernando High School

Jacob Dickerman, chemistry/science, Valley Alternative Magnet School

Jonathan Frechette, English, RFK School Visual Arts/Humanities

Juan Carlos Garcia-Hernandez, special education, Vista Del Valle Dual Language Academy

Ariana Guizar, kindergarten, Holmes Elementary School

Olivia Hackett, special education, Beckford Charter for Enriched Studies

Dr. LaTeira Haynes, science/biology, Dymally High School

Amberlin Hulse, special education, Alta Loma Elementary School

Charmaine Jackson, English, Paul Revere Charter Middle School

Victor Menjivar, special education, Sylvan Park Elementary School

Erick Quintanilla, music, Hollenbeck Middle School

Marcela Ruelas, pre-kindergarten, Stanford Primary Center

Gabriel Serrano, special education, Emelita Academy Charter

Tyler Sherman, health, West Adams Preparatory High School

Hae Na Shin, special education, Normandie Elementary School

Jamecelle Ventura, special education, 118th Street Elementary School

Megan Walsh, second grade, Kenter Canyon Elementary School

During the 2016-17 school year, the District employed more than 800 first-year teachers. Of those, their school site prinicipal nominated 76 overall. Rookie of the Year honors were based on key characteristics, including effectiveness in preparing and delivering instruction; providing a positive classroom climate with strong routines and procedures; adopting a dynamic and engaging teaching style; and showing high levels of professionalism.

The California Credit Union, which was originally formed to offer educators financial services, created the Rookie of the Year program in conjunction with Security Benefit to recognize educators within the greater Los Angeles community. "These teachers exemplify excellence in what they do," said Ron McDaniel, CEO of California Credit Union. "Our credit union was built on serving educators and we are proud to support a program that encourages and inspires excellent new teachers who are passionate about teaching the children of Los Angeles."



Editor’s Note: A select number of press passes are available to accredited press. The pass provides limited access to the field for interviews and photo opportunities with the Rookies of the Year and program sponsors prior to the first pitch. The pass does not include tickets to the game. To apply for a press pass, contact the Dodgers’ Public Relations department at 323-224-1301.


Attached Files